Say “Uncle” Barry

Presidential candidate Barack Obama on Memorial Day 2008:

Uh … I had a … uncle who was one of the … uh … who was part of … the first American troops to go into Auschwitz, and liberate the concentration camps. And the story in our family was is that when he came home, he just went up into the … into the attic, and he didn’t leave the house for six months.

[YouTube=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SV1sxq8mqvA”%5D

A little fact checking is in order. First, Auschwitz was liberated by the Red (Russian) Army, as it was located in Poland. Second, in a speech in 2002 Barack said this about his grandfather:

My grandfather signed up for a war the day after Pearl Harbor was bombed, fought in Patton’s army. He saw the dead and dying across the fields of Europe; he heard the stories of fellow troops who first entered Auschwitz and Treblinka. He fought in the name of a larger freedom, part of that arsenal of democracy that triumphed over evil, and he did not fight in vain. I don’t oppose all wars. link

Uncle or Grandfather, or both? Neither  Auschwitz or Treblinka were liberated by American troops. This is pure unadulterated bullshit on the part of a candidate for the highest office in our country. The Main Stream Media of this country should be ashamed for not challenging his memories and “facts.”

One Response to “Say “Uncle” Barry”

  1. James Ballou Says:

    Hi EC Marm:

    I don’t know if you have seen my name before but I comment on LGF from time to time with the nickname Mormon Doc. When I am not commenting there I am an author and have just published a book entitled Soul Survivor. I am hosting a contest to give away 5 signed copies of the book and I want you to participate if you would. There is a summary of the book on my site and NO purchase is required to be eligible.

    The reason I am doing this is to increase awareness of my book before it goes up on Amazon later this month. The more important reason is that I believe the book has the potential to help people. It may even be able to help someone you know.

    Please visit my website to see the contest rules (which are simple) and remember that this does not require any purchase. Let me know if you have any questions.

    Warm regards,

    James Ballou
    author of Soul Survivor
    http://www.jamesballou.com

    P.S. Some of the people I have invited to participate in the contest have announced it to their readers as well. If you feel inclined to do this I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks for reading my note and please let me know if I can ever return the favor.

Leave a Reply

